Enchanted Party: Flag Banners

En Español

I made flag banners as one of the decorations for the Enchanted Birthday Party I’m making for may daughter’s fifth birthday. I researched a bit and came up with an easy way to create them. You can make the banenrs out of fabric or paper. I personally prefer paper because it retains the shape better when hung, and also, you can choose colors from literally hundreds of beautiful scrapbook papers. It is cheaper too. I got a block of scrapbook paper, 180 sheets, for $10 at my local craft store. Some people like to glue the flags and then sew them together but I found that to be an overkill.

What you’ll need:

Scrapbook paper
Flag template (mine was 5.5 x 8.5)
Pencil
X-acto Knife
Ruler
Double bias Tape
Sewing machine

How to make them

Make a line at 8.5″ (or however long your flags are) on the back of a scrapbook sheet of paper and cut with X-acto knife.

Turn your paper horizontally and place your flag template on it. mark its position down with a pencil three times. Cut on lines with X-acto knife and ruler.

After you cut all the flags you need, both in quantity and color, you will need to use bias tape in order to make the banner. I guess you can also use normal ribbon of about .5″ in thickness, but I have never tried it that way. Bias tape is sold, most commonly, in 3 and 4 yards at your local fabric store.

Double bias tape has the wonderful convenience of being a cotton ribbon which has been folded in half, making it easier to insert either paper or fabric in between.

Sew your flags between the folded bias tape. I used a zig-zag stitch because I figured it would be firmer than a straight single stitch. Besides, if a kid pulls on a flag it will not reap. Well… I guess it depends on how tenacious the kid is, lol.

Et Voila!! You have a flag banner. I made sure to leave a good measure of bias tape on both ends of the banner. This way it will be easier to tie and it will have a nice little tail of tape.

Leave a Reply

