New Year Resolutions

I remember, back in high school, I had a TA that taught me the difference between try and strive. (I was learning English back then)

He told me that to try to do something is just the thought. the inclination or want to do something. That it wasn’t an “action” verb. Strive, on the other hand, required thinking and doing. To strive for something was to know that you will do and work for a certain goal.

Being a new year, I have been thinking about resolutions. I would like to strive for these:

  1. Be a better mom. To me it means to be more patient, kind and loving. To always remember that my kids are just that, kids. I think that I can ask a little too much from my 5 year old.  I need to teach them the correct way of doing things first. I can’t just expect something to be known if it hasn’t been taught. Kids don’t really have common sense as adults know it.
  2. Be part of something big.I want to be part something where people come over to see. It could be art, a production, stage designing, etc… I used to be part of a multicultural dance company, back in college, and I’ve been missing the rush of adrenaline when performing. 
  3. Have a conscious participation in my well being. After getting married I have not been physically active as I once was. I want to be able to exercise, but also, to learn how to eat properly and maintain a healthy body, to learn new things, and feast in the things of God. I want to have a balanced life.
  4. Be a better friend. I have friendships that have lasted over 10 years; I barely see them. I have new friends I would love to get to know better but  I just don’t take the time. It’s a pity, really, because I find them all so interesting, fun to be with and have around. So, I would like to spend more time with them. be there for them. Learn from their wonderful examples.
  5. Show more love and care towards my husband. I as a woman, I am under the impression that my husband will think the way I do, do things the way I do, and spend his time the way I think is a better fit. My husband is a really smart man and he really knows how and why of things. As with my children, I would like to be more patient, kind and loving to him, but also, to trust him. Men can only do ONE THING AT A TIME. And that should be my mantra for this year. LOL
  6. I want to triumph and not be afraid. How silly is that, right? I don’t seek to be famous or to be on TV. no, no. What I want is to be able to do what I want to do, and not be afraid. Nelson Mandela, in a speech he once gave, quoted “…Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” ‘A Return To Love’ (1992) by Marianne Williamson

An that is it for this year. I think it a very complete list. Now I will go and do.

Leave a Reply

