Walk This Way!

Being a graphic designer has trained my eye to notice things most people don’t. One of the things I have been noticing lately, is the way a few mortals chose to walk. I notice them while driving, at the gym, having ice cream, etc…

Walk This Way!

Here are 4 ways of walking I enjoyed watching:

1) The Practice walk

On the way home from dropping my kids off at school, I saw this one guy practicing the way he walked. He was even talking to himself! So picture this: African American dude, wearing very low jeans, comb on the fro, white shirt and a black jacket, listening to something on his headphones. This guy was taking s-l-o-w-m-o-t-i-o-n steps while arching his right hand and arm over his left leg, and with the other hand, holding on to his pants for dear life… while tilting ever so slightly to his left. The guy was practicing his swagger! Oh my gosh, it was so fun to watch. He was walking S-L-O-W, slow, slow. I wonder if he was saying to himself, “yeah, this is how you do it man! Chicks DIG IT! I’m so cool and I’m so groovy when I go bom, bom bom!” I felt like the little pig that laughed all the way home. I can still see him in my head. Classic!

2) The Ridiculous Walk

I’m at the gym, walking. People are walking all around me, some are running, of course. and suddenly, out of nowhere, this man passes me on the right. He was speed walking! I know that those who exercise this way claim that it is very good for you. That it’s way better than running and walking… so why not combine the two? I’ll tell you why, because it looks ridiculous!  I tried to do it myself, and see if I could find joy in it…but… NOPE!  Speed walking was invented in the 70’s and THAT’s where it should stay! However, it looks like those who practice it, take it to the next level… the competitive one! Here is a dumb video to prove it.

3) Arched Legs

Now, this is self evident. its something that was not chosen or agreed upon. This old man was just born this way…Maybe?  Instead of making fun of this way of walking, I would like to concentrate on the difficulty of walking this way! It must hurt the joints I imagine.
My husband can attest to my pain. I don’t have arched legs but I do suffer from knee pain every once in a while. Well, Knee, back, neck, shoulder pain…. All the time, it sucks! So, I suppose I can imagine how painful having arched legs must be. I guess the man I saw became arched-legged with age? My husband tells me that this “Bowleg” thing happens as well to people who ride horses a lot. So, cowboys are just made that way.  LOL!

4) Old Woman with Walkman

One of the greatest joys in life, I find, is to listen to music. I listen to music all day long while working. So, it comes to no surprise, that many people enjoy life while listening to some good old tunes. Well, that’s exactly the case with the old woman and her Walkman. I haven’t seen one of those little wonders since the 80’s, when I was a kid.
For those of you little ones who don’t know what a Walkman is, it is the music playing box that Peter Quill, from Guardians of the Galaxy, listens to while zoning out. Anyways, there she was, in all her lose-spandex-leggin glory,  listening to her music. This old lady looked adorable! I wonder what she was listening to? Because whatever it was, had to be old enough to had come in a cassette tape.

How about you? Have you ever noticed anything peculiar in the way some people walk? I would love to read your stories.

Belle signature ok

Leave a comment